Dreams

DSC02389

If you could pick only ONE of your dreams to come true,
what would it be and why? – Sandbox Writing Challenge #80

So many dreams, so little time. That little phrase sums up exactly my take on dreams because I’ve got so many of them that I often feel lost. In fact sometimes I feel so lost and stuck that it saddens me. So about a week ago I decided to gather my courage and asked a question about dreams to a woman who’s got a vlog and a blog on self-improvement (in French). Rationally, I really wouldn’t be able to tell you why her, even though there are so many writers, bloggers and gurus on the topic who are much more popular than her. But her words resonate with me on some deeper level: I relate to her quiet yet powerful demeanor in her videos and nod my head in agreement when I read her posts.

One of the things that I like about her is that she welcomes any and all questions that her readers might have, whether they are personal, philosophical, spiritual or even mystical. I wrote her that I had many dreams, that they over-whelmed me and that I feel like I have isolated myself with my home-based job and lack of money, like I’m not making any headway to any dreams that I might have. I also told her that lately while meditating I’ve been feeling an underlying, nagging pain. I’m not sure what it is, but it is obviously something that I live with every day even though I don’t “hear” it in daily life. Her response was simple, but to the point: Take the time to sort things out for yourself. Go into that pain and see what it tells you.  Be your own healer, psychologist and best friend. In short, get thoughts and feelings sorted out before making headway.

So I try to sort, but it’s easier said than done. The inner voice speaks in a whisper and it requires intense concentration that every-day life doesn’t always allow.

But I did at least manage to narrow my dreams down to three points  (in no particular order of preference):

  1. Traveling with my family. And I mean really travelling, not just for the sites, but for different cultures, languages, food, and people.
  2. Moving to a house with a garden somewhere in the beautiful countryside that surrounds us (but preferentially somewhere with an open-minded community).
  3. Opening a language, music school for children / cultural center.

 

3 thoughts on “Dreams

  1. It would be an after-school center more so than a school, I guess, for music and language lessons, mostly for kids. And in the evening have some local artists perform from time to time. It’s a project that I’ve been turning and re-turning in my head for a while, but I haven’t done anything towards achieving it yet. Partially because I don’t feel like a project like this would work in the town we live in. Of course I might be wrong, which is why I was thinking of getting music / language courses started from home…but I keep postponing this.

    Like

Leave a Reply

